U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-22-2011, 10:35 PM

5 posts, read 14,597 times

Advertisements

Hi! Currently live in Boston, but just got a job in Worcester. I'm a single professional, late 20's. I love city life, but don't think I can handle a 1+ hour commute each day. Is anyone familiar with the towns in between Boston and Worcester? Are they safe? Any good areas for young professionals? Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-23-2011, 07:47 AM

3,479 posts, read 6,864,709 times
Plenty of options for you to choose from. Do you want something more "urban" or "rural" for living itself? And are you looking to rent or buy? Budget?

Old 05-23-2011, 09:56 AM

100 posts, read 349,329 times
Of the 3 towns that you mention, I personally like Natick. You'll only be 20 minutes away from Boston and Worcester will be something like a 30-minute commute. Moreover, for your office commute, you'll be going opposite to rush hour traffic.

Natick has a nice selection of stores and restaurants. Framingham is also mostly very nice, but I would stay away from the train station and the downtown areas. Shrewsbury is fine, but I think it might be a longer commute to Boston (I am guessing at least 45 minutes if not more) - however, the commute to Worcester should be quite fast.

Btw, in terms of costs of housing, on average, Natick will be the highest followed by Framingham, and then Shrewsbury.

Quote:
Originally Posted by East_Coast View Post