U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-19-2013, 06:00 PM

3 posts, read 4,751 times

Advertisements

Although I am a two-time author, a poet and an artist, I have had no income but SSDI and SSI due to a disability. However, I could earn money from the sales of my art, if I had a studio in which to produce it and lived in MA where the healthcare system promotes independence. Is it possible to find such a studio near if not in Northampton, say in Easthampton or even a bit farther away? I do not mind rural, but I have narcolepsy among other things and driving long distances is a problem...Where would that place be and how would I go about finding it? How much should I expect to pay? Is using Craigslist to find a rental truly safe?

Right now, I live in HUD-subsidized housing, so I only pay a third of my income, which is to say, only a bit over $200.00/month. But I would be able to earn at least $700.00 month if I had a studio, and have resources from my family to pay a much higher rent, if necessary. One thing I do know is that getting on Section 8 is impossible at this point, the waiting list being closed "for years to come."

Any suggestions or advice from anyone with information will be greatly appreciated. I am so tired of being disabled...I am trying to get off SSDI/SSI and out of poverty but they make it impossible to do so in CT. I think in MA it might be easier, or at least up to me. Thanks!