Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-26-2008, 09:34 AM

6 posts, read 23,216 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I am a life long Mass resident and I am considering moving to Newburyport. I have visted there several times, though only explored the typical center and tourist areas. I know its a small city but was wondering if there are parts that I should avoid if I am looking to buy a house or Townhouse.
Any other tips or little known facts I should consider?
many thanks all!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-26-2008, 10:26 AM

10,749 posts, read 23,822,981 times
Hardly. Newburyport is almost like Stepford wives. There are some mixed income areas but in the big scheme of things Newburyport is a safe prosperous town as are neighboring towns like Amesbury, West Newbury etc.
Salisbury can be a little sketchy down by the beach but nothing to write home about.

Old 07-26-2008, 02:10 PM

6 posts, read 23,216 times
thank you caphillsea. I have always had good impressions every time I was there and was hoping that was the case throughout the city. I love the fact that its a walkable city. thanks for your input, hopefully I will be able to find a reasonably priced place (house/townhouse) there for around 400k.

Old 10-06-2008, 03:47 PM

6 posts, read 38,147 times
Default Seedy Newburyport...

Bad areas in Newburyport? Yeah, there's a fire hydrant on State Street that has lost its cute little snowflag. Disgraceful.

Old 10-07-2008, 03:43 AM

190 posts, read 866,812 times