U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-08-2009, 06:55 PM

14 posts, read 109,033 times

Advertisements

i have been working for FEMA in Texas for the past 6 months. now we have been laid off and my daughter has found a job in Massachusetts. should i apply for unemployment before i leave Texas or wait til we move up to massachusetts? We literally have no home as i have been staying in hotels while working for FEMA for about a year and a half, but the last place we lived was in Florida. I also worked in DC for part of last year. its very confusing as the rules are supposedly different for former Federal workers??? i am panicked about finding a new job, although i have a computer degree.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-08-2009, 07:00 PM

4,979 posts, read 9,126,113 times
Sounds like government workers are experiencing what the rest of us are...

Old 03-08-2009, 07:11 PM

224 posts, read 738,640 times
Have you tried talking to the unemployment office in Texas?

Old 03-09-2009, 03:39 AM

639 posts, read 3,411,506 times
January 2009 they changed the law in Massachusetts with unemployment benefits. You have to work in the state to collect it here. I don't know whether it's a federal law or just a state law though. I just know that in Massachusetts in order to collect UI benefits you have to work in the state.

Here's something from there website:

I worked in another state. How do I file for Unemployment Insurance benefits?