U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-17-2009, 09:20 PM

7 posts, read 26,363 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I'm a student at UMass Boston, and I'm writing an article on the changes that the Mass public transportation system, particularly the railways, are going through currently.

First, some background:

According to the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, the state of MA has been apportioned $319 million (approx.). Among other things on their expenditures agenda, the Mass govt. plans to use this money to fund various railway expansion projects (which include both Boston's local T lines as well as the commuter railway lines) around the state:

For example,
http://www.eot.state.ma.us/redblue/
http://www.greenlineextension.org/default.asp
http://www.theurbanring.com/
http://www.eot.state.ma.us/SouthStationDirectConnect/index.html
http://www.southcoastrail.com/

These projects are currently in their infancy, the govt. has only submitted plans to carry out these expansions. I'm certain that many of you must be already aware of these developments.

But, on the other hand, the railway infrastructure at present is in a very sorry state with most of the trains, trolleys as well as railway tracks requiring heavy maintenance and repair.