U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Memphis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-29-2012, 11:26 AM

1 posts, read 2,245 times

Advertisements

I've read a TON of these threads but am still having trouble here. I apologize for clogging up the board.

In June, I will be moving to Memphis to live with my boyfriend of ~7 years. I am a soon-to-be college grad... with a theater major. So, I have a few questions.

1. My boyfriend has lived in Memphis all of his life. He is mid-twenties and works in Southaven. Because of this, we need to live somewhere that makes his commute not-suck (but not in Southaven itself, because I need in-state tuition for grad school in TN). He makes ~23k a year after taxes & works third shift. Normally, he'd be looking for places, but he's stuck working 12-16 hour shifts right now because of a manager loss, so that's why I've come to you guys!

2. I need a job! I know that a theater major is not the most marketable, but I went to liberal arts school so I have slew of other skills that I think could make me a valuable employee. BF says he could help get me a job where he works, where I would make ~21k a year after taxes & also work third shift. I'm wondering if there might be any other employment options open for me, or if anyone has any ideas of where I might apply? I realize that I am applying early since I can't be down there until June, but I really want to get a job secured!