Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Memphis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-20-2009, 03:50 PM

899 posts, read 2,277,588 times

Advertisements

I am a young professional who might be taking a job in Memphis. I will be renting an apartment with the hopes of buying a house in a/b 1-2 years. From what I read on these posts the benefit of TN is no income tax while MS is more house for the money. But as a renter not having to worry about a mortgage or property taxes, wouldn't it just make sense to rent in TN and avoid having to pay a state income tax? Would there be any reason to rent in MS, which I assume would mean paying MS income tax (such as are the rents much cheaper in Southaven than Cordova or Germantown areas)?

I guess my concern is that I don't want to establish myself in a TN town now and then have to move across the state line in a few years to get a house that I want. If I get involved in a ton of Tenn-related groups I wouldn't want to have to start over in Miss or vice-versa.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-20-2009, 06:27 PM

2 posts, read 5,729 times
Well, you pay the income tax based on where your job is. Since you are working in Memphis you will not be paying income tax. Mississippi has a lower sales tax, but a higher car registration tax. It is a give and take basically wherevever you liver. Southaven will probably be cheaper than Cordova, Germantown especially, and will be just as safe.

Old 02-20-2009, 06:40 PM

625 posts, read 4,558,387 times