U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness > Mental Health
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-24-2014, 10:52 PM

3 posts, read 2,056 times

Advertisements

I feel stuck. I'm a 22 year-old college student. I've been diagnosed Bipolar I since 2010, though from 2011 on I was getting better. Job, girlfriend, family support, got my AA. Now I'm four months into living on my own at university, and have fallen into depression. No job, no gf, it's hard to talk to family because I didn't need to lean on them then so I can't bring myself to do it now.

I don't want to keep studying Business, but I need to satisfy my parents and accomplish something for all this time spent. I want to find a purpose, but when I see my studies and plans and social opportunities come and go I feel like I'm wasting time. I fantasize about stopping, but worry that then I'd go from being an unmotivated student to an unmotivated wanderer. Would I even last as a wanderer, which my condition? Probably not.

I want to find the motivation to tame my depression, but I just want to oversleep and not face the day lately. I can remember feeling similar to how I feel now in high school, like I am just waiting for an epiphany to come motivate me.