U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness > Mental Health
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-30-2015, 10:30 AM

44 posts, read 30,765 times

Advertisements

I'm a chick but I identify as male. FtM.

I went to the VA (I'm a veteran) and they approved me for HRT. That is supposed to be the hard part. Turns out the estimate for service was 4 months (in reality more than that). The consult expires in 3 months. So basically they're ignoring the 30-day rule so they can pretend they helped me. On paper they supported my decision. In reality they never had any intention of administering HRT.

So I called the Patient Advocate. I didn't get a single answer in an hour and a half and 4 extensions. Just voicemails. No big deal, really. The Patient Advocate is notoriously useless. They are just a middle man. Their job is to report complaints. They don't have power of enforcement, so almost all of those reports get dismissed as old men grumbling

So I called mental health and eventually I spoke to a supervisor. She claimed to have taken a message and sent email to various entities. That was 3 days ago and I haven't heard back, so I'm thinking she either didn't really send the message, or it was received and deleted like everything else concerning patient care in the VA.