U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-07-2011, 04:44 AM

77 posts, read 195,142 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone,

I am a person that is moving from Novi, Michigan to Oahu, Hawaii in about 5 months. I am a chemist and my wife is a teacher. We have no children. She is already there and got a job along with $10,000.00 to relocate. I am staying here with a mutual friend of ours to raise some money for us to have a nest egg when I get there in October.
I don't deal much with family anymore as I have become a bit of a black sheep in my family. But I have a few great friends here, and my co-workers over the years have become great friends as well.
But Michigan saddens me now, I have been here for 32 years (all my life). Everything I grew up knowing or went to as a kid is gone, Detroit has become worse. I was over my cousin's place in highland park to visit and overnight they stole my catalytic converter from under my van. I am not even sure how they got to it.
But I am curious. If you were in my position, what would your feelings be? I am going there sight unseen. My wife loves it! Has anyone on here been there before??? Would you leave? Stay? Be sad or happy? Many have said it's a great adventure, some have said it's foolish. I am confident about getting a good job though. I applied for about 2 weeks in Oahu and got 5 interviews soon after. I ask this great Michigan forum what are your thoughts about my upcoming plans?

thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-07-2011, 05:35 AM