U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-10-2011, 12:33 PM

2 posts, read 5,984 times

Advertisements

I work as a public librarian and was asked an unusual reference question. I was not able to provide any statistics after an extensive search. The request was "do you know how many single, young (under 30) and childless people have left Michigan since 2008". I can find outmigration statistics but not his refined. My neighbors unmarried young daughter moved to Los Angeles last year, but I have not had any first hand knowledge beyond this. Do you fit this category or do you know someone (family member, friend, etc.) within this category who has moved out? I am from "Downriver" south of Detroit.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-10-2011, 01:12 PM

16,610 posts, read 15,145,645 times
I don't know about "since 2008" specifically, but over the past 3 decades I have known many young people that moved out of Michigan, including 3 of my siblings (out of a total of 5, although 2 had since moved back, and one left for a second time). Several neighbors, friends, acquaintances have also moved out. I'd say about 1/2 have since returned to Michigan after only a few years, ostensibly to be near family and friends who did not move out.