U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-08-2022, 01:26 AM

55 posts, read 40,838 times

Advertisements

I graduated from high school over ten years ago now. Now that the dust has settled and people have started to put down roots, I have noticed a definite brain drain. People from the graduating class of my high school (Auburn, MI of Bay County) heavily opted for relocation to metro Detroit. Very few people with career ambitions chose to stay in the Midland, Saginaw, Bay City area.

Other notable locations for those who left are: Grand Rapids metro, Traverse City metro, and smaller number of people relocated out-of-state and stayed away. Detroit is by far the biggest destination, taking probably 60% of those individuals who moved away, if not more.

I haven't looked at any data but I suspect that this is probably just a microcosm of what is happening in smaller metros throughout the Great Lakes region--older, more traditionally industrial population centers are losing a lot of talent (especially degree holders) to larger and economically stronger cities in close proximity.

Thoughts? Experiences?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-08-2022, 03:43 AM

4,947 posts, read 5,103,543 times