U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-20-2013, 08:11 PM

5 posts, read 29,109 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone! Here's some background:

I am currently 23 years old, graduated from Arizona State University with a Bachelor's degree in Supply Chain Management. I worked as a distribution manager at Amazon.com for roughly 1 1/2 years. I did not enjoy it there, planned on leaving and joining the Navy or Air Force but another job came up. So now I live in Memphis working for my dream company as a logstics manager... but I still want to fulfill my dream of joining the military.

So, I was planning on joining the reserves sometime next year (once I have established myself in my new company). Questions:

- Navy or Air Force reserves? Pros and cons?
- I know I can enlist as an officer, but since I have working experience... could I be ranked higher? Do I still need to take tests? What tests?
- How long is basic training for the reserves?
- My boyfriend also wants to join the reserves... do we have to be married to stay together? If we aren't married we will not be in it together? He does NOT have a degree and cannot go in as an officer. He is 27. We are not opposed to marriage, but we have been together for a while. Timing just isn't right for marriage yet.
- What is life like in the reserves? What happens on the one weekend a month on base?
- Obviously, what is pay like? The same benefits as if you were full active duty?

I'm not worried about deployment, I understand that is part of the job.

Thanks!