Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Minnesota > Minneapolis - St. Paul
 [Register]
Minneapolis - St. Paul Twin Cities
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-04-2008, 08:05 PM

177 posts, read 613,804 times

Advertisements

My fiancé and I are considering Minneapolis (in addition to Brooklyn, Seattle, & Providence) as possibly our new home. I am a Graphic Designer and have noticed that Minneapolis is probably 3rd if not 2nd to NYC for design. I also want to get a degree in Architecture at some point too.

I'm wondering if anyone can give me a heads up on the job market for designers out there. If jobs are scarce or plentiful? If pay is good for a designer with 6+years exp.? Also, what are the spots where the "creatives" dwell?

Thanks...any info in addition is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-06-2008, 11:27 AM

5 posts, read 39,076 times
I moved to the twin cities 11 mounths ago but have lived before in both Seattle and Queens, NY... I hate it here.. The job market is good and I work in a field close to yours I am sure you wouldn't have a problem getting a job assuming you have some experience.

However... I recomend choosing NYC or Seattle. Since moving to Twin Cities I am already planning my departure even though I got a great paying job here. The city is for the most part nice. The problem is the weather; it is horrible. Before moving I rationalized it and figured; "it can't be that bad", it is that bad and worse... 6 months of bitter cold, snow and wind are torture. I would reconsider... just my opinion