Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Minnesota > Minneapolis - St. Paul
 [Register]
Minneapolis - St. Paul Twin Cities
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-16-2009, 11:30 AM

17 posts, read 88,083 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone. I am new to Minneapolis and looking for houses, and I notice that there are a lot more available houses in Bloomington and Richfield than the rest of the areas I'm looking into (western suburbs and southwest Minneapolis). Why is this? Are the schools worse in Bloomington and Richfield? Is it the traffic on 494? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-16-2009, 12:50 PM

11,334 posts, read 25,970,711 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danfix99 View Post
Hello everyone. I am new to Minneapolis and looking for houses, and I notice that there are a lot more available houses in Bloomington and Richfield than the rest of the areas I'm looking into (western suburbs and southwest Minneapolis). Why is this? Are the schools worse in Bloomington and Richfield? Is it the traffic on 494? Thanks.
Bloomington and Richfield are older suburbs ... it's possible there is simply more turnover of starter homes in those areas.

Parts of eastern Richfield are also subjected to airport noise.

Edit:

I should add ... I lived in an apartment complex in east Bloomington for quite some time (1989 - 2000), and I loved the area (corner of Old Shakopee Road and Old Cedar Ave).