U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Minnesota > Minneapolis - St. Paul
 [Register]
Minneapolis - St. Paul Twin Cities
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-14-2010, 11:57 PM

383 posts, read 849,635 times

Advertisements

My Taekwondo school is closing for the summer and I have nowhere to train for the next 3 months. I've been practicing TKD for the past 5 years and I don't want my skills to deteriorate again. I've taken time off from TKD before and it's been a pain in the rear end to get back to where I was skillwise. I don't want to go through the process of getting back into good TKD shape again.

Here are my preferences for TKD schools.

1. I prefer an International Taekwondo Federation (ITF) school because I'm currently studying ITF Taekwondo. In a pinch, I could switch back over to an Olympic style school which teaches World Taekwondo Federation style. Even though I have a black belt in WTF, I'd still prefer to do ITF because ITF is better suited for self defense. Also, I kind of like having the challenge of climbing up the ranks from whitebelt to black belt again and relearning the art from another perspective. I also want to avoid teaching as much as possible, and if I go back to a WTF school, I'll probably be pushed to teach instead of learn.

2. Price range would be anywhere from 25-40 dollars a month.