U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Montana > Missoula
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-28-2014, 02:05 PM

9 posts, read 13,726 times

Advertisements

Husband and I made a deal: If he moved from Pasco WA to live with me and my kids in Baltimore, I'd move back West with him when my youngest graduated HS.

That graduation is 3 years hence.

We have started our search for the just right new home and fresh start to our already incredibly happy lives.

I'm a teacher with a Masters in Special Education. I've been a classroom teacher from Pre 1st through 8th grade. I've got a Maryland Teaching Certificate. I also have a certificate in Leadership from Johns Hopkins.

We fell in LOVE with Missoula and know about the smoke (yikes) and the cloud cover through much of the winter. I've read this forum pretty thoroughly and am familiar with the depressed pay scale.

So....

What about teaching positions?

The MT gov't website has several job openings all over MT but none for Missoula. The stated pay for teachers on the official Missoula website is more than ample for our needs, provided my IT husband can find a job that will pay him something. But I don't see any Missoula teaching positions available..which is odd. This is hiring time for public school teachers back East.

I would LOVE any information you have on the education situation in Missoula. I'll follow any suggested links as well.

We are starting this process 3 years early because (as has been said many times on this forum) doing our homework is of paramount importance.

Thank you in advance for your advice!

--Pam