Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-17-2007, 02:20 PM

62 posts, read 249,104 times

Advertisements

I realize I'm fairly new to this, but I just wanted to brag a bit on my son. He just graduated high school in February (finally! ), enlisted in the United States Marine Corps, completed boot camp in May, and is now stationed at Twentynine Palms, California. He tells me he will go to Iraq in March, which absolutely breaks my heart, but we all knew he'd end up there when he enlisted. On the 4th of July as I watched the James River "I Love America" fireworks show, my heart absolutely melted. I called my son and left him a message and told him that Independance Day would never hold the same meaning for me now that he is fighting for our country. As you all pray for each other's struggles, please remember our troops overseas and the moms and dads over here wondering if they'll ever see their son or daughter again. It's so horrible over there, and I don't even want to think about all the things that he will experience emotionally (at the young age of 19) that most of us will never see. I missed my son's 18th birthday (in March) because he was at boot camp. I will most likely miss his 19th birthday because he'll be in Iraq. I'm truly not ready for him to go. Here is a picture of me and my son when he was on leave in May. Proud to be an American in Missouri....-mom-marine-luke-16kx12k.jpg His name is Luke, if you don't mind to keep him in your daily prayers. Right now he's having fun sowing his wild oats & ha