U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-25-2006, 04:52 PM

1 posts, read 4,425 times

Advertisements

Ok so I'm a writer of short stories etc. and I'm trying to think of a setting for a story in Missouri, hopefully with lots of greenfileds, very small, with enough to do that you can't get bored. Can anyone help me with this??

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-26-2006, 04:48 PM

187 posts, read 978,235 times
Hermann, Missouri?

Parkville?

Augusta?

Arcadia?

Westphalia?

Weston?

Rocheport?

Louisiana?

Ste Genevieve?

Lexington?

Just a few towns that might have some charm that come to mind.

Old 11-26-2006, 07:17 PM

138 posts, read 465,075 times
Default about 17,000 people

TRY KIRKSVILLE! Very conservative but with an excellent college.

Old 11-27-2006, 07:58 AM

339 posts, read 1,318,930 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWriter View Post
very small, with enough to do that you can't get bored.
Have you ever lived in a small town? Beating boredom is a way of life. You'll need a 4x4, a fishing boat, a shotgun and a rifle. If you get bored it's your own fault.

Old 11-27-2006, 12:37 PM

944 posts, read 3,687,403 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozarks21 View Post
You'll need... a shotgun and a rifle.
I'm ignorant about guns. Why both? What's the diff?

Old 11-27-2006, 04:26 PM

339 posts, read 1,318,930 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeptrance View Post
I'm ignorant about guns. Why both? What's the diff?
Keeping in mind my statement was somewhat tongue-in-cheek...