U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-03-2013, 09:54 AM

151 posts, read 279,462 times

Advertisements

This morning I'm on a break for a tax seminar on the new tax act passed in 2013. I'm a 25 year tax CPA with a masters degree in Taxation. I believe this information may be useful to some on this board.

The new tax act extended the exclusions for forgiveness of debt. This is good news. However, the banks have a practice which the presenter of my seminar emphasized.

Here is an example. You had a home in which the debt is far greater than the mortgage. You walked from the debt. Let's assume you did not receive a 1099 C (cancellation of debt information statement from the bank). Furthter assume you excluded the amount of forgiveness of debt income. Some banks are now coming after people whom they did not issue 1099C's to. Their position is as follows. They say the bank is divided into :

a tax division and a legal division. The legal division has decided to pursue the debt. So, many people might believe the issue is history. but this may not be the case

There are many nuances to these transactions, for example property with recourse financing and property without recourse financing. Also this part of the law can be confusing. This is all I can write now . my 20 minute break is over.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-03-2013, 09:57 AM

13,602 posts, read 12,134,221 times
Thank you, oomph for sharing that information. Keep it up!

Old 01-03-2013, 11:41 AM