U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Nashville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-08-2013, 12:39 PM

5 posts, read 6,033 times

Advertisements

Hi All,
I am originally from Florida, lived there for 16 years. Moved to Connecticut and have been here for 16 years. Now looking to move to Tennessee. Why Tennessee? I'm somewhat familiar with western NC so figured it can't be much different (family vacations regularly). I believe it has a slower pace and it's quaint.

I work in IT and am searching for a job in Nashville and looking for a home about 45 minutes out. Ideally I am looking for lots of privacy, woods, 10+ acres. Looking for a good school. I have a wife and 4 month old son.

My wife is a CPA and works for one of the Big 4 accounting firms. I think she would have an easier time finding a job with that work background than I would.

Here is my concern. It has been brought to my attention recently by a coworker and I hadn't thought of it much or how to answer it.

My wife is originally from Puerto Rico she moved to and has lived in Connecticut since she was 6 years old.
Do those of you in TN foresee any potential ethnicity confrontations?

We are not ghetto and are pro 2a, lol if that helps ... (hence the exodus of CT)
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-08-2013, 12:51 PM

49,943 posts, read 54,417,294 times
"Ethnicity confrontations"?

Well, regular folks won't demand to see her papers.

Unless she's a weirdo or just mean, she probably won't get a second look.

Old 05-08-2013, 01:21 PM