Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Nashville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-26-2014, 12:16 AM

2 posts, read 2,375 times

Advertisements

Hi all!

This is my first time posting, but I've been a lurker for YEARS! I was needing some specific advice. I am a 26-year-old, single female, graduating with my master's degree in counseling psychology this Wednesday! I currently live in Springfield, Missouri and have been here for most of my life other than a 2009-2010 stint in Oklahoma City.

Springfield is highly over-saturated with counselors, so if I don't have a job by June or July, I am considering moving to a bigger town within Missouri or surrounding states. I *LOVE* Nashville. I've been four times now, most recently just last month.

I need some specific advice though. Due to being born with cerebral palsy, I've been approved to have 69,000 dollars worth of student loans forgiven by the government. It seriously brings tears to my eyes every time I think of it!!! The only stipulation is, I cannot make over ~$15,500 (not counting my SSI payments) for the next three years...which (believe it or not) as a counselor who is required to be supervised for my first 3,000 hours, I probably won't have to worry about making over that limit anyway.

I've been looking on Craigslist, and rent prices in Nashville seem to be about $200 - $300 higher for what you would pay for something comparable here. In this order I would hope for: