Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nebraska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-04-2013, 11:38 PM
J&T J&T started this thread

20 posts, read 26,656 times

Advertisements

So my step-dad is a US citizen and he, my mom & my brother are moving back to the US in July & I'm going with them - I'm also a uni student here but I thought I'd go on an exchange to finish my course while I'm there. So out of my partner uni options, UNL seemed like the best choice.

So now I'm moving to Lincoln for 6 months - a year (still haven't sorted out a second semester, but first is sorted). I've been reading very mixed opinions on Lincoln, and it's worrying.

I've previously spent 18 months living in Vancouver, Canada a few years ago, so relocating and moving isn't new to me, that's the exciting part. Although! I wasn't alone when I moved to Canada, nor did I have a dog to worry about.

First off, apartment vs. house? Pros and cons? I've come across some house rentals that have 1-2 bedrooms, and (some) have fenced yards. I've been looking at places under $800 p/m. Obviously closer around the $600 mark is ideal, but if it's perfect then I'm willing to go up a little. So these houses I'm finding occasionally seem to be cheaper than a lot of apartments I've found.