Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Hampshire
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-01-2019, 09:04 PM

7 posts, read 7,663 times

Advertisements

Hi all! I came across City-Data while searching for differences in daily living in FL compared to NH. However, the post I was reading was 6 years old, so I decided to make a new one. My husband and I work in the healthcare field and are scheduled for a site visit at a hospital in Lebanon next week. We will be meeting with a realtor during that time. The towns we are looking at are Lebanon/West Lebanon, Hanover, Plainfield, Grantham, and Enfield; all are within/less than a 30-minute drive to the hospital and I am aware of the property taxes (ranging from 1.9% to 2.8%). My questions are:
- do we ABSOLUTELY need 4WD or AWD vehicles for winter? We have an AWD and a RWD now.
- is it better to rent first or buy if we are planning to stay at least 2 years in the area? We have 2 dogs and are finding it hard to look for pet-friendly rentals. For example, there are only 2 apartment complexes that are pet-friendly in Lebanon.
- is it true that we are essentially on our own with regards to trash disposal? Meaning there are no weekly residential trash pickups like we have now? I have read about transfer stations where they charge you per bag of trash you bring.
- just how harsh are the winters? I think that will be my major concern, as I have only lived in tropical areas.