U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-25-2011, 04:41 PM

46 posts, read 72,025 times

Advertisements

I want to become a High School Math Teacher
To be able to teach either 7-12th or 9-12th grade

Every time I search "Universities in New Jersey for Secondary Education Mathematics" it only comes up for Online ones for New Jersey.. I want to go to an actual school. Can you help?

Also is the degree.. BS Secondary Education Mathematics or BA Secondary Education Mathematics
I've seen it both ways what is the difference?
Also I'm just a Freshman in High School..

HELP!!!
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

Old 02-25-2011, 04:49 PM

1,519 posts, read 3,827,278 times
You're making your search criteria much too specific. Majoring in education with a focus in mathematics is possible at most New Jersey colleges and universities.

The single best online resource is the college board website. Search here for your career: College Admissions - SAT - University & College Search Tool (Don't be overly specific!)

BS is short for Bachelor of Science. BA means Bachelor of Arts. Math can be considered either a science or an art. In the big picture, it really doesn't make a big difference whether you obtain a BS or a BA. It's the math that counts.

Old 02-25-2011, 04:51 PM

2,692 posts, read 3,701,736 times
Become a Teacher in New Jersey | Learn How to Begin Teaching in New Jersey

Old 02-25-2011, 05:04 PM

2,161 posts, read 4,352,546 times
This is a list of colleges/universities in NJ that offer teacher education programs/degrees: