U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-23-2011, 11:23 AM
 
9 posts, read 29,812 times
Reputation: 13

Advertisements

I just saw a house with a furnace in the attic for the whole house. This house was very small and then it was totally rebuilt and made bigger keeping the existing foundation. Would it make sense to have the furnace in the attic for a house like this.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-23-2011, 11:32 AM
 
Location: Northern NJ
453 posts, read 1,661,495 times
Reputation: 231
A "furnace" usually means a hot air system. Our shore bungalow has that. We had to replace an old hot water baseboard unit in a downstairs closet and decided to put a hot air unit in the attic with a new central air conditioning coil.

I think if we lived there year round, I would have kept (replaced) the baseboard boiler, but this allows us to easily winterize the house without draining the heating system, and allows for quick re-start in the spring.

If you're talking a boiler in the attic, I wouldn't be keen on that at all.

Rhys
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 11:33 AM
 
9,124 posts, read 34,765,235 times
Reputation: 3616
Are we talking about a 1-story house or a 2-story? Is there a basement that the furnace could have been located in instead?

Putting the furnace in an unconditioned attic isn't the ideal scenario (especially if it's a central AC unit as well), but it's not all that unusual either.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 11:38 AM
 
9 posts, read 29,812 times
Reputation: 13
This is a 2 story large house. There is a basement. I was looking for it in the basement and then was told it is in the attic. There were 2 separate zones. There were 2 separate units in the attic.

Do you think the builder took a shortcut by putting the furnace in the attic.

Last edited by homebuyer12; 08-23-2011 at 12:29 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 12:29 PM
 
1,977 posts, read 7,376,822 times
Reputation: 1161
My house is on a slab (no basement) and to make more living space on the first floor, they put the HVAC system in the attic. Horrible placement if you ask me. I would have MUCH rather given up a couple closets and smaller 1/2 bath on the first floor for an "Equipment room" if I designed it.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 12:36 PM
 
9 posts, read 29,812 times
Reputation: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRiguez View Post
My house is on a slab (no basement) and to make more living space on the first floor, they put the HVAC system in the attic. Horrible placement if you ask me. I would have MUCH rather given up a couple closets and smaller 1/2 bath on the first floor for an "Equipment room" if I designed it.
Why do you say it is horrible? I thought it only needed to be serviced twice year (once in winter and once in spring)
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 12:50 PM
 
9,124 posts, read 34,765,235 times
Reputation: 3616
Quote:
Originally Posted by homebuyer12 View Post
.

Do you think the builder took a shortcut by putting the furnace in the attic.
Actually, I think they took the harder route. Why run ductwork all the way from the attic down to the first floor when you could have run it in the basement far easier? The only thing they may have saved on what the gas line, but they had to create chases down through the second floor, so they spent any savings on those.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 01:27 PM
 
9 posts, read 29,812 times
Reputation: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobKovacs View Post
Actually, I think they took the harder route. Why run ductwork all the way from the attic down to the first floor when you could have run it in the basement far easier? The only thing they may have saved on what the gas line, but they had to create chases down through the second floor, so they spent any savings on those.
thank you for the reply. With the furnace in the attic for the first floor, will it still be able to heat the first floor properly or do you think it would it be more likely the first floor will be cold.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 02:35 PM
 
1,977 posts, read 7,376,822 times
Reputation: 1161
Quote:
Originally Posted by homebuyer12 View Post
Why do you say it is horrible? I thought it only needed to be serviced twice year (once in winter and once in spring)
AFAIK all newer HVAC systems only have to be "serviced" twice a year (Aside from filter changes)

The reason I think its dumb is the attic is not insulated and considered a cold/hot zone. So it has to work that much harder to overcome the cold/heat to keep the house at a constant temp.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 02:36 PM
 
9 posts, read 29,812 times
Reputation: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRiguez View Post
AFAIK all newer HVAC systems only have to be "serviced" twice a year (Aside from filter changes)

The reason I think its dumb is the attic is not insulated and considered a cold/hot zone. So it has to work that much harder to overcome the cold/heat to keep the house at a constant temp.
is your first floor harder to heat? is it colder. do you need to run the temperature higher to heat the 1st floor?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
>
Powered by Foreclosure.com
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Settings
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2020 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2022, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top