U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-14-2012, 04:26 PM

4 posts, read 11,285 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I'm presently a resident of Illinois, and will start working in lower Manhattan later this summer. I'm trying to figure out where to live in NJ.

First, here's the information requested:

Where are you coming from? Illinois
Why are you moving? New job
Where will you be working? If NYC, what part of NYC? lower/downtown Manhattan, NYC

Will you buy or rent? Rent
What is your budget? $800-$1400/month
What kind of place are you looking for? a studio or 1-bedroom apartment

Will anyone (spouse, children, pets) be moving with you? No, just myself.
Do you need/want good public schools? No (a few years down the road, so not really a big consideration right now).

Briefly describe the kind of neighborhood you'd like to live in
(examples: families with young children, young, mature, artsy, diverse, safe, close-knit, block parties, etc)
Would prefer walkable small or mid-sized towns over big cities. Would like to live at walking distance to public transportation (planning on catching a train to Hoboken and then taking the PATH to WTC, for work)

List three things that are important to you in order of importance.(examples: nightlife, outdoor activities, rural/urban, safety, downtown area, charming, new construction, proximity to XYZ, family oriented, easy parking, short commute, etc)
[1] 60-75 minutes door-to-door commute via public transportation (I won't have a car for quite some time)