Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-21-2012, 01:35 PM

8 posts, read 9,097 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here; please be gentle : ) I've been working in Morris County - near Wharton - for about 2.5 yrs now. My husband also works where I work. We moved to Rockaway a year ago and are sick of paying almost $2,000 in rent at this really nice apartment complex. We've been talking about purchasing a home for a while, but we're a little afraid of commitment... especially when we're not familiar with this area. At this point we want to get an idea of how Morris County, or other surrounding counties, compare to what we're looking for. This will help us immensely.

Where are you coming from? New to Dover/Rockaway Twp. – Both raised in Hudson County (city folks); we've lived in Bayonne and Montclair prior to moving to Rockaway.

Why are you moving? Want more for less monthly payments – sick of renting for $2k a month.

Where will you be working ? We're both working in Morris County near Wharton. Pretty secure job.

Will you buy or rent? Buy

What is your budget? No more than $250,000 -- yearly combined income is approx. $118K. My credit is better than my husband's. but we're working on it. I'm in the 700's -- he's in the high 600's.

What kind of place are you looking for? 3 BR, 1-2 Bath, no septic tanks. Public water, sewer and public natural gas if possible.