U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-26-2012, 02:05 PM

1 posts, read 1,033 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I've been reading a LOT of useful posts on here so I wanted to register and get some opinions on locations for a first time home-buyer in NJ.

Just some history... I grew up in Scotch Plains and then moved to the city after I graduated college. Living on a modest income in NYC is not easy, but I loved the experience and wouldn't trade it for anything in the world. Unfortunately, I decided I didn't want to rent for the rest of my life and had always desired buying property. I like being close to my family and childhood friends in NJ so I decided to come back home and have been living with my parents saving for a down payment on a home.

So that's where I am now, I have saved a decent amount of money and am looking to purchase a home in the 250-300k range.

I still work in NYC and my commute at the moment is pretty dreadful. I take the bus (not the train) from Fanwood station because this way I don't have to change in Newark. That being said, if anyone has driven through the lincoln tunnel at 8:30 in the morning you know how messy that can get. Getting on a direct line to Penn station would be a huge time saver for me.

I'm also still single, so I don't need a big home. Most people have recommended Hoboken or Jersey City to me, but I drive A LOT, especially on weekends so having a car at my place of residence is important.