Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-22-2013, 08:30 PM

2 posts, read 1,605 times

Advertisements

I'm a recent college graduate beginning work in Newark in August. I have a roommate, possibly two and we have a budget of $2600 for two people and $3900 for three people. It's highly possibly that all will have cars (so 2 or 3 cars total). We're looking to find the best location close to nightlife, restaurants, shopping- overall a younger crowd. We've looked in Jersey city - specifically near exchange place path and grove street, but curious about the other surrounding areas in Jersey City (Downtown, The heights, etc). What are the areas like? Is it likely for us to find a place that would allow parking for two or three cars? If not, where would we find parking? Are there other areas within a 20/30 minute drive from Newark that are younger areas? Any help would be great!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2013, 08:53 PM

131 posts, read 274,127 times
Montclair? Younger vibe, lots of restaurants, shopping, artsy vibe, I think it would be affordable on that budget...also there's a train to NYC as well.

Old 05-27-2013, 09:37 PM

2 posts, read 1,605 times
checked out montclair- there definitely is all that, but I spoke with a few locals and they said there wasn't much of a night life/younger crowd that goes out in the evenings. Is this true??

Old 05-27-2013, 09:52 PM

385 posts, read 1,175,834 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by njmove_ View Post