Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
2,500,000 members. Thank you!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-24-2013, 04:30 PM

19 posts, read 58,395 times

Advertisements

Hello!

I'm a recent college grad from Michigan and I am planning on applying to Rutgers University for graduate school to start next fall. I've been in correspondence with someone from the program I'm interested in. So far the program sounds great, however I don't know much about Rutgers as a whole or about New Brunswick (except that it's in close proximity to a lot of other major cities on the East Coast). The current student told me that New Brunswick overall is pretty safe, and that there are some parts that feel less "college town-y" and are frequented more by young professionals (which actually sounds quite refreshing to me as a prospective grad student). If anyone can shed some light on the safety, cost of living (I'd probably move there by myself and ideally live in a studio apartment), and overall "vibe" of the New Brunswick area I'd appreciate it. Also what's the campus environment like? Is it also pretty safe? Is it a pretty well known and widely recognized school? Any advice is welcome!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-24-2013, 05:15 PM

23,269 posts, read 16,941,629 times
RU collega ave and Douglass, Heights and Cook are safe places. Free bus service to all campuses as RU is spread out.

As you cross town the area around Remsen st has quite a few notches in its belt for bad stuff.