Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-10-2014, 11:56 AM

4 posts, read 4,109 times

Advertisements

Hello peeps,

I am a permanent resident who already has an undergrad degree from a foreign university. I moved to NJ recently but I haven't been able to get a single interview in 9 months of looking for jobs.

My wife (who is also unemployed for the last 14 months) and I will have exhausted our savings by August this year so I have decided to go to college.
I would like to get an associate's degree in computer science before doing a master's.
I will hold off on the details of my career plans as it's irrelevant to the question I have and I would also appreciate if the replies pertained to my question only and not to my career plans.

After looking at the annual cost of attendance of a few community colleges, they all seem to be clustered around the $18,000-$22,000 range with the tuition fees accounting for the difference.

It appears to me that excluding tuition fees, books and other direct expenses, the college is only allocating about $15,000 at best for living expenses.
After looking up the websites of a few private banks, I also learn that the banks will not loan more money than what the college certifies.

I fail to understand how a couple or even a single person can make ends meet with $15,000 a year.
In Central Jersey, a small studio apartment rents for $900 on an average in a not-so-great area and that doesn't include utilities.