U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-19-2015, 03:05 PM

9 posts, read 10,708 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone! I recently discovered this forum and I have been reading and reading! I saw a lot of positive and negative things about New Jersey which make me reconsider a move.

I am a young professional, 25 year old female, single, no kids. I am currently based in the Midwest in a med size city. I am getting tired of the midwest, the sheltered mind and lack of culture, and have been for a while. I have lived here 9 years but I have been back in Europe on and off. I like the attitude over there and would like to be a tad bit closer even if I am still in the U.S. I did hear people in the NE are definitely more straighforward and not as friendly as the good old midwesterners. I am not sure if that would be for sure a bad thing though for me..

I am mostly concerned about driving since traffic here is probably NOTHING compared to NJ. Is it easy to get used to? Do you think moving to NJ after a job offer is a good idea if you are currently stuck comfortably in the Midwest? Cost of living is definitely different. I will make enough to live okay on the East Coast but definitely more opportunities to save, and get more bang for your buck in the Midwest.. I am just looking for various opinions before I make a big decision that I might or might not regret. I do realize it's the Internet and everything needs to be taken with a grain of salt. Thank you in advance!

Where are you coming from? - Midwest, but I am Eastern European