Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-24-2020, 03:55 PM

9 posts, read 9,171 times

Advertisements

We are looking to relocate from Sag Harbor, NY to NJ. We have two elementary school-aged kids and are looking for a more academically rigorous public school system. We’ve narrowed our search down to the Princeton area. We love the feel of downtown Princeton as well as the cultural offerings (we are both musicians - I am a classical musician and my husband writes music for tv). We are having trouble choosing between the Princeton school district and Montgomery. Endless internet searches have revealed that both are great and we could not go wrong either way. We work from home so commuting is not an issue. Our specific concerns are these:

1. Our kids have grown up in Sag Harbor which has a tiny public school which feels very much like a private school with a very close-knit and eclectic community of parents. From a social stand point that has been wonderful; academically however we have not been satisfied, hence why we are moving. Our main concern is that both Montgomery and Princeton are massive school districts —compared to Sag Harbor (there are between 60-80 kids per grade in Sag Harbor!) Can anyone chime in about the experience of moving kids from a small school to a larger school? Does one district feel more welcoming than the other?
2. We are “creative types”. If we were looking to meet other creative-type parents, would our chances be better in one school district vs. the other?