U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-18-2007, 07:11 PM

424 posts, read 1,396,966 times

Advertisements

Folks,
I realize this is the not the appropriate forum for this question but given that I'm planning to move to NJ and knowing how useful/informative this forum is, I've taken the liberty to post this message. Appreciate your help.

I'm considering taking up a contracting opportunity in Jersey City, and am talking to a vendor. They are quoting a 1099 rate and since, I've never done contracting before I have no idea what that rate means or how it compares to a permanent position. So, here is my question -

Assumptions:

Say, my current salary is $100,000 in a permanent position that has vacation, sick days, holidays, 401K, health insurance and other benefits. What would the equivalent of this be if I were to take up a contract on a 1099 rate.

* I know that there is the SS and Medicare tax that I would need to pay, plus perhaps other taxes. But, what are those exactly?
* Any other things I have to consider to understand the conversion. Since I wont have 401K etc, I would somehow need to account for that.

Thanks a lot!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-19-2007, 05:05 AM

9,124 posts, read 34,434,679 times
As you said, you're going to have to pay the employer's 1/2 of SS/Medicare, which is 7.65% of your salary up to $90-something thousand (it goes up every year). Figure $6,000 for that, since the cap will work out to just under $6k.