U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-27-2008, 10:28 AM

1,462 posts, read 4,441,462 times

Advertisements

Hi all -

I found a property that the wife and I both loved, and we're starting the process to get everything done. I'm a complete newbie at this, even though, ironically, I was a licensed real estate agent many moons ago. (It's a really long story.)

That said, I had a few questions:

1) Is there a site besides Bankrate that's reputable where I can shop for Mortgage Rates? I had Capital One email me a promo about mortgages, but I want to see all the other options out there.

2) We have a lawyer ready to go (my company provides legal services) but I'm not sure what else I need through the process. Do I need to look into home inspectors? Accountants?

3) I'm going to ask the owner for copies of their power and water bills so I know what to expect. Is there any other documentation I should ask from the owner?

4) Is it normal to ask to throw a piece of furniture into the deal? The home has a table that my wife and I loved and it's perfect.

5) Continuing on the furniture kick, the majority of our furniture is cobbled together from IKEA, handmedowns from our parents, etc. Can anyone recommend a decent furniture store that isn't insanely expensive? I've heard bad things about Bob's but good things about Raymour and Flanigan.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-27-2008, 10:46 AM

2,736 posts, read 9,185,596 times