U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-19-2008, 03:54 PM

12 posts, read 89,090 times

Advertisements

Hi I am an Elementary school teacher of 10 years in NYC. I was thinking about teaching in New Jersey for Sept 09. I am completing my second masters in Special Education next May. I am also bilingual (Spanish/English). Can anyone share any advice about teaching in New Jersey. What steps should I take regarding certification and job hunting? What is the salary like? If all goes well, I would also like for me and my family move to New Jersey too . I am really trying to avoid moving to Charlotte,NC. Thanks
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-19-2008, 07:49 PM

1,106 posts, read 4,686,587 times
If you do a search on this site you will see that landing a teaching job in NJ can be a challenge. There are a lot of teachers and not as many jobs. Many districts it's mostly by personal referral (not what you know, but who you know). The fact is that if you are not tied to a particular region of the state you can really apply to all openings that you are certified for and then relocate.

I would apply now for your certification(s). It will cost some money but the Dept. of Ed is notorious for being very slow.