Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-27-2007, 02:41 PM

526 posts, read 2,068,554 times

Advertisements

Hello. I am big fan of the site and, after reading some very interesting threads about my former hometown of Elizabeth, I decided to post for the first time.

I want to preface this by saying I am a thirty-something Union County resident of half-Caucasian, half-Latino descent. I lived in the Elmora section of Elizabeth for 25 years before moving 5 years ago. I commute to work in NYC and still live in Union County. I still have family and friends that live in Elizabeth, so I’m there on an almost daily basis. As I stated, I was born and raised in Elizabeth – so I still have a lot of love in my heart for this place. That being said, this is my unbiased take on some of the misnomers and flat-out lies being stated in some threads about Elizabeth:

Elizabeth is most definitely not on the upswing. In fact, it has decayed rapidly since about 2000.