Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-17-2009, 09:59 PM

5 posts, read 18,375 times

Advertisements

I had an interview at Rutgers for a professor position. The teaching requirements are night classes (6-9 pm) mostly. I must be at Newark 3-4 days a week, 1-2 days at New Brunswick campus and 1/2 day in NYC.

I am a single mother in the mid 30s with a PhD. Kids are 7 and 8. I am a professor at Rutgers Camden now and live in Cherry Hill, NJ, This gig will end in May 09. I am originally from Bangkok, Thailand -- a city person. I sent my kids to be with my mother aboard since my employment situation is not stable at all -- even with a PhD. This job at Rutgers Newark is 3 years base contract. I have friends in Hoboken and NYC area mostly single friends I have known since grad school. I would say Cherry Hill is nice but way too quiet. I like the diversity in Jersey and just love it!

If it is just me teaching at Rutgers both Newark and New Brunswick for the first year --- any advises where I should look? I want my kids to live with me as soon as I can see a chance of stability in my career -- but I can't really see it in a nearing future (1-2 years.)