U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-08-2007, 09:19 PM

14 posts, read 40,823 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone!

I have just landed a job in downtown Newark (on Commerce Street). Since I have only been to Newark once (when I went to the office for interview), my understanding of Newark is still very limited.

Given that I am just a college grad, if I would like to rent an apartment in Newark or its surrounding towns, which part of the city should I look at ? I expect to pay no more than $1000per month for the rent for a studio/1BR.

Also, how is the public transportation system in Newark? I really do not want to spend more than 20mins to travel to and from my home/office.

Also, I have heard that the crime rate in Newark is really crazy. However, if I only work in Newark and live in some surrounding towns, would that be safe?

As a summary, I am looking for an apartment which satisfies:
1) within 20mins to Commerce Street
2) within $1000/month
3) LOW CRIME RATE and GOOD NEIGHBOR

Thanks in advance for your help!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-09-2007, 12:06 AM

2,806 posts, read 15,855,791 times
Newark is somewhat of a rough town. A lot of business people work there though as it is the largest city in the state. I honestly don't know if you really want to live in Newark as a college graduate.