U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Louisiana > New Orleans
 [Register]
New Orleans New Orleans - Metairie - Kenner metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-21-2011, 08:44 AM

4 posts, read 6,088 times

Advertisements

I am moving to NO mid-july and I am trying to figure out where the best spot for me will be. My price range is in the 600-700 area renting.. I want to be in a safe but eclectic part of the city. Safe as in being comfortable walking/riding home from bars at night with a friend. I understand that no where guarantees my car will not get broken into. I am an artist and also looking at going back to school, looking into a community college for the fall- any comments about Delgado?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-21-2011, 09:25 AM

1,097 posts, read 2,191,163 times
The Marigny and Bywater represent a huge part of the art and music scene in New Orleans and have a definate bohemian vibe. These areas are relatively safe, walkable and adjacent to the French Quarter. Most of the good night/music clubs are here. You would be 3-4mi from Delgado.

Mid-City is less artsy, more blue collar, but still very urban and walkable with a good amount of bars and restaurants (plus a Grocery). It's a little more spread out than downtown, but you can still easily get around without a car. You would be <1mi from Delgado and have easy access to a streetcar to get to the CBD/French Quarter.

You should be able to find something in that price range in either any of those neighborhoods.

Old 06-21-2011, 12:21 PM

152 posts, read 458,833 times