Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Louisiana > New Orleans
 [Register]
New Orleans New Orleans - Metairie - Kenner metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-27-2013, 03:41 PM

1 posts, read 2,175 times

Advertisements

Hello, I'm an admin from NYC with wall street experience- I was wondering how the job situation is in general in New Orleans right now for professionals with experience. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-27-2013, 03:52 PM

151 posts, read 291,624 times
The news would have you believe it's good. In fact, there are many articles talking about how it's very good. Here's the problem... the comparison they are using is "good compared to right after Katrina". The reality is that pay is fairly low (most people make between $10 and $15 an hour). Depending on your industry, you will also have a hard time finding a job. There are lots of low paying jobs all over the place (think McDonalds and the like). If you want to find out what kind of jobs there are out there, take a look at nola.com, craigslist, monster, careerbuilder, etc. Yes, there are unadvertised jobs as well, but they are hard to find if you don't already have a contact.

Old 02-27-2013, 05:58 PM

4,678 posts, read 9,931,886 times
How are the oil jobs faring?

Old 02-27-2013, 09:56 PM

640 posts, read 1,231,707 times
I guess it depends on what you mean by "wall street experience."