U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-10-2007, 06:58 PM

2 posts, read 33,634 times

Advertisements

I'm an Australian and we have moved here to Brooklyn. I am a qualified teacher in Australia, and my husband is pushing me to get a teaching job here. (I teach primary school. ie up to year 6).

I am trying to figure out the process and it is all a bit ovewhelming. I understand that to teach in the state system I have to go through the whole certification process regardless of almost 10 years of experience. I've heard that I might be able to teach in private schools with my current qualifications, but I am having trouble finding information to support that.

Is there anyone out there who is or has been in a similar situation who could give me a little insight.

Thanks for your help.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-10-2007, 10:56 PM

2,806 posts, read 15,844,037 times
Yeah if you want to teach at a Catholic parochial school or another private school I don't think you need to jump thru any more hoops, just send in some resumes. The pay and benefits for private schools aren't nearly as good as they are for public schools though.

Old 07-11-2007, 07:05 AM

52 posts, read 210,755 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by mead View Post