U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-25-2011, 11:46 AM

1,367 posts, read 1,873,292 times

Advertisements

i love the city and ive been to NY probably around 6-7 times.

id love to work and live in a decent 1 bedroom apartment.

the problem is getting a job. specially if ur out of state.

i live a little west of Detroit and I work in IT. there are a ton of IT jobs in NYC but most of the time when they see you're from out of state, they disregard you...

do you guys have any tips for me?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-25-2011, 11:53 AM

2,853 posts, read 6,778,917 times
Visiting and living somewhere are two very different things. Do you have any friends or family that live in NYC currently? NYC is also a big place. By NY do you mean Manhattan?

Your income, experience, age, and flexibility are all very big factors.

A 1 bedroom apartment in Manhattan will cost you between $2,000-3,000 a month. Then you have the cost of transportation, food, taxes, etc. Without the guarantee of a secure job with a very good salary, moving will be very difficult.

Visiting 6-7 times may not have given you a lot of information about actually living in NY. You should definitely do a large amount of research before giving up what you currently have in Michigan.

Old 06-25-2011, 12:13 PM

11,184 posts, read 10,268,957 times