Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-23-2007, 08:44 AM

6 posts, read 17,771 times

Advertisements

Hey Everyone,

I'm a 10th year Houstonian. Been flirting w/the idea of relocating to the East Coast for awhile (particulary NYC). I also like the DC area. While Houston is a very comfortable city to live in, I don't feel it has what I need professionally.

Houston is an industrial city that achieves its growth from oil & gas, engineering and medical industries. But I'm cut from the artistic cloth. I'm a writer who's heart is in the world of arts/culture/entertainment. Before I landed in the unmotivating corporate throes of oil & gas (still wondering how I got there), I did marketing/promotions and event management. I wouldn't mind going back into those field but I'm more interested in writing/communications related careers from an arts and/or publishing industry aspect.

I'd like some insight on NY and the degree of difficulty in obtaining these types of jobs. I know people are flocking there due to these industries but I'd like some insight from people who've lived there.

I've search the boards and I see no postings from people moving TO NY. It's always FROM...Hmmmm...Hint-hint, I guess.

Please educate me. I've visited on several ocassions but I know living there is different.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-23-2007, 08:23 PM

43 posts, read 216,077 times
Default Giving up comfort . . . think long and hard.