U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-09-2012, 02:17 PM

535 posts, read 1,358,107 times

Advertisements

Hello

I'm a 25-year-old student graduating with a B.A. in Advertising (Account Management) on December from Florida International University (FIU). I've been living in Miami for 12 years and I'm more than ready to move to another state to start my professional career. I've been to NYC several times and I LOVE IT! I care less about the weather, using public transportation or living in a small apartment.

Miami is not my cup of tea and it has never been. I don't like the hot, humid 1 season weather, lack of urban life and culture, rude people, unassimilated hispanics, car centric scene, lack of diversity, no jobs, low salaries that don't commesurate with cost of living and I can go on and on..... NYC seems to offer me the diversity that Miami lacks and the times I've been in the area (including NJ) I feel I'm home. This has never happened in Miami, honestly we don't click together....

I've searched on craiglist for rents and jobs and I've seen many jobs in my field also many internships. Is one job (30k-50k) enough to survive and being able to go out once in a while?