U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-17-2012, 10:55 AM

10 posts, read 24,526 times

Advertisements

First off, I wanna thank all the thoughtful messages I got yesterday.

I've decided I wanna go ahead and buy a small 2br coop or condo.

and since I'm a complete newbie at this, I'm not sure how the process works.

Do I need to go and qualify for a loan first?
Do I need to go look for houses and then apply for a loan?

people talk about loan brokers; how different is it from applying directly with the bank?

How do I find a reputable real estate agent that's knowledgable about Queens and Brooklyn?

Thank you guys again, you've been of great help!!
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

Old 07-17-2012, 11:27 AM
C8N

1,119 posts, read 2,982,637 times
First, get your credit report or at least know your credit score and get a mortgage pre qualification letter. For a pre qualiification letter, you do not need to have a property in place. This will show your agent and sellers that you are a qualified and a serious buyer.

If you have any cash laying around that you would want to use towards your down payment, deposit that into your account right away. You want this fund to be in your account for at least two months. Otherwise, this will be what they call unseasoned money. Any unseasoned money, your lender may require you to source and document them.