Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-02-2013, 06:16 PM

4 posts, read 28,188 times

Advertisements

Okay the title might sound ridiculous but that's why I posted here so people can tell me if my plans really are crazy.

I've read the moving to New York guide that's stickied. It's helpful with neighborhoods/safety/schools issues, but it seems like it's for more established folks, people with families, or students. I'm not currently any of those.

I graduated from college last year with a degree in mathematics. I worked for a few months in digital marketing before discovering that I really couldn't take, or wasn't ready to take, eight hours in front of a computer screen every day. So I quit that job and am looking to change careers. Writing, editing, or anything in the legal field appeals to me. I took the LSAT (167), so if I find some type of entry-level position perhaps I will retake it and go on to law school.

But here's the rub. Right now I'm in the Atlanta area and I feel rather stifled. I've visited NYC before, and I just love its energy. It's vibrant. I'm sure you've heard young people say that before. I'm probably no different but I'm willing to do just about anything to get a foothold in the city. Is it possible? I know you need obscene amounts of documentation and an income 40x monthly rent to get an apartment, so I'm thinking of subletting or finding roommates. I've looked on Craigslist; so far, no luck, but I'm not worried since I just started.