Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-20-2015, 05:33 PM

2 posts, read 22,324 times

Advertisements

I'm a college female student looking to rent a summer apartment in NYC and I'm just about to sign the lease when I found out the NYCHA Amsterdam houses are nearby (really close..) and I was wondering should I be worried and find somewhere else to live?

The apartment is 63 west, and has doors on 63 and 64 street by Amsterdam Avenue. The Amsterdam houses are literally just next door, and to get to the subway one has to walk past the edge of the projects.

I'm so worried because I will be alone and a stranger in NYC and I just hope if anyone will tell me if I should be concerned with the safety issues.

Last edited by chenxijessica; 04-20-2015 at 06:52 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-21-2015, 07:25 AM

25,341 posts, read 36,827,738 times
There is only one building on Amsterdam with access to 63rd and 64th and that building is very much one of the Amsterdam Houses (NYCHA.)

However "63 West Realty" has some nice buildings around town like 244 West 64th...but even that is smack dab in the middle of NYCHA.
Official Website for 63rd West Realty | New York City Apartments | Upper West Side Apartment Rentals

So, are you talking about the latter place...nice building but with kitchens in the living room...weird?

Old 04-21-2015, 06:06 PM

2 posts, read 22,324 times
Question The latter one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kefir King View Post