Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-02-2016, 09:09 PM

8 posts, read 13,250 times

Advertisements

If I got a mba with a major in accountancy from baruch, would I have a realistic chance at getting a job in nyc? A lot of the jobs I'm looking at list a bachelors in accounting as a requirement so would a masters overlook that requirement? (I have no undergrad major in accounting, only natural science). basically, im thinking about doing a 180 from the sciences and going into accounting. Any advice/info would be appreciated, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-02-2016, 09:34 PM

1,510 posts, read 1,006,734 times
CPA here, the accounting job market is strong and healthy but you need to use your school's career services. Baruch has the most accounting grads working in Wall St and public accounting in NYC. The key is that you must have a good GPA because it is competitive with so many accounting students. Busy season just ended and accounting firms usually hire one year in advance beginning in the fall. Again, use your school's career office and website.

Since virtually all states now require 150 credits in order to qualify for the CPA exam, many accounting programs by default are bachelors-masters hybrid. I know most firms won't even look at you if you don't/won't meet the 150 by your start date.

It will greatly help you if you have relevant accounting work experience/internships.

Old 05-02-2016, 09:52 PM

8 posts, read 13,250 times